Lokmanya Tilak National Award

Lokmanya Tilak National Award

The Lokmanya Tilak National Award is an annual award instituted by the Tilak Smarak Mandir Trust in Pune, Maharashtra, India, in memory of Lokmanya Bal Gangadhar Tilak. The award is given to individuals who have made significant contributions to the fields of social, political, economic, or cultural spheres.

The award was first presented in 1983, and the recipients have included politicians, scientists, social workers, and artists. Some of the notable recipients of the award include:

  • Indira Gandhi (1984)
  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1998)
  • Manmohan Singh (2009)
  • APJ Abdul Kalam (2010)
  • Narendra Modi (2023)

The award consists of a memento, a citation, and a cash prize of ₹1 lakh. It is presented on the death anniversary of Lokmanya Tilak, which is August 1.

The Lokmanya Tilak National Award is one of the most prestigious awards in India, and it is a recognition of the recipient’s outstanding achievements. It is a fitting tribute to the memory of Lokmanya Tilak, who was a great patriot and a towering figure in Indian history.

See Also

lokmanaya Tilak award

Lokmanya Tilak

Lokmanya Tilak and freedom struggle of India

The Tilak Smarak Mandir Trust

The Dagdusheth Ganpati temple

upsc official Website

66080cookie-checkLokmanya Tilak National Award

Leave a Comment